Wednesday, December 22, 2010

I only sing about things I like

I am really quite enjoying all of this time off.  So far I have eaten more than I should and watched old cartoons for entire days.  I would just like to say that Quick Draw McGraw is funny for an episode or two, but anything beyond an hour is painful!  I would also like to say that everyone should watch the Boomerang network because it has amazing things.  And everyone should get electronics at pawn shops.  So the sad story of the day is that I have nothing interesting to say because I'm not doing anything.  So I took a vote from my biggest fans (aka anyone within earshot at the moment) and they decided I can just rant about whatever and exaggerate my tales of shopping.  But my shopping trips have even been so uneventful that I really have nothing to say.  So now I am just left ranting about things I do or do not like.  Once I get back to living life I should also go back to having stories to tell.

I tried to watch the lunar eclipse the other night and I have to say I was very disappointed.  I went outside in the freezy frozen cold and sat in an icy ice chair and look up at the moon.  At first it started turning an odd sort of red.  Then after an hour of freezing it turned poo brown.  Yeah.  Poo brown.  Everyone else said it was a deep shade of red and I am just bad at distinguishing colors, but I know the truth.  They didn't want to feel stupid for sitting in the cold just to watch the moon turn poo brown.  But I don't mind feeling stupid.  In fact, I think medical school was designed to make everyone smart feel stupid and be okay with it.  So I am willing to admit I sat in the cold for hours just to watch the moon go from off-white to reddish to poo brown.  After I decided it wasn't going to black out for some ridiculous physics filled reason I went inside.  I think it had something to do with Colorado not being exactly lined up to get the full effect and sun rays being not perfect or something.  Anyway, it was poo brown and that's all I have to say about the moon.  But while I'm on the subject of poo brown I would like to just throw out a theory of mine.  I think people get ugly poo brown sheets because they poo themselves at night and it hides the stains.  Same reason people would buy poo brown underwear.  That's my two cents about it.

I enjoy making up JJ carols.  Really they are just Christmas carols with whichever words I choose replaced with JJ.  My personal favorite lately is The Twelve Days of JJ.  It goes something like this:

On the 12th day of JJ my JJ gave to me
12 JJs JJ
11 JJs JJ
10 JJs JJ
9 JJs JJ
8 JJs JJ
7 JJs JJ
6 JJs JJ
5 JJ rings!
4 JJ JJs
3 JJ JJs
2 JJ JJs
And a JJ in a pear tree!!

Don't worry I have plenty more.  Such as JJ Bells:

JJ bells!  JJ bells!  JJ all the way!  Oh what JJ it is to JJ in a JJ open sleigh!  OH!  JJ through the JJ in a JJ open sleigh.  JJ the hills we go!  JJ all the way!  Bells on JJ ring!  Making JJs bright!  What fun it is to JJ and sing a JJ song tonight!  OH!  JJ bells!  JJ bells!  JJ all the way!  Oh what JJ it is to JJ in a JJ open sleigh!!!!

And the all time classic JJ the red nosed JJ:

JJ the red nosed JJ had a very shiny JJ!  And if your ever JJed it, you would JJ say it JJs!  All of the other JJs used to JJ and call him JJs!  They never let poor JJ join in any JJ games!  Then one foggy JJ eve, JJ came to say, "JJ with your JJ so bright won't you JJ my sleigh tonight."  Then all the JJs loved him.  And the JJed out with glee.  JJ the red nosed JJ you'll go JJ in history!

Or Up on the JJ:

Up on the JJ, JJ paws.  Down comes good old JJ Claus!  Down through the JJ with lots of JJs all for the JJ ones JJ joys.  Ho JJ Ho!  JJ wouldn't go!  JJ Ho JJ!  JJ wouldn't go-o!  Up on the JJ, JJ paws.  Down through the JJ with good St. JJ!

Want more?  Too bad.  I don't want to type any more.  So if you really have a burning desire to know more JJ carols you can just leave a specific song request as a comment.  And if I'm feeling benevolent I'll think about writing it and singing it to JJ.  I swear he enjoys it and does NOT just sit there and roll his eyes at me.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Don't start with me! I'm done!!

Done with my first semester of medical school that is.  I refuse to feel guilty for doing absolutely nothing for the next 2 weeks.  It ended with only a slight whimper since the final was comprehensive.  Total we had 120 hours of lecture to learn in a little under 2 months.  Could I tell you any of it?  Nope.  But not because I don't know it.  I refuse to talk about school outside of school in any serious terms.  I prefer to be happy and pretend I am just a lazy undergrad who never has to remember anything.  But seriously I feel great!  Today I realized that eventually it will end.  Not the learning as a whole, but the lecture, book, test cycle type of learning.  Someday I will know stuff and not have to prove it by filling in tiny, annoying bubbles.  I'll have to prove it by improving the lives of others in statistically significant numbers.

So I don't really like Christmas.  In fact, my mother nicknamed me Amy-neezer Scrooge and it seems to have stuck since I get called Neezer year-round now by various persons.  I don't mind because it is the most awesome nickname I have ever had.  The few things I enjoy about Christmas are the tree, the lights, the cookies that I make myself, and the snow.  I am not very fond of the songs and I have an extreme distaste for presents.  I like birthday presents because I feel everyone should acknowledge what an accomplishment it truly is to keep myself alive year after year.  But I don't feel like Christmas is much to celebrate in the means of my own life.  I didn't do anything.  And living for a year doesn't count because that's what my birthday is for.  All I did was, uh, be around?  I am an entity and so I should get presents from people I talk to I suppose.  I also am pretty upset that if I find something I want to give to somebody I have to wait.  I would rather give it to them as a surprise the day I find it before Christmas.  They expect it on Christmas.  I also don't like how every December I have to clean my room just to fit all the stuff I'll be cleaning out next year.  And I never get summer related items.  And I feel as if I am not allowed to buy anything for myself in the entire month of December because someone might have gotten it for me already.  It's just a bad set-up all around.  The things I enjoy about Christmas are really just what I enjoy about seasons.  I like that reds and oranges and yellows are prevalent in fall.  I enjoy the mild weather in the spring.  And I love the popsicles and snowcones and ice cream in the summer.  Winter is just lights and snow and cookies.  AND THAT'S ALL!

Nothing has happened in the last few weeks so don't complain that I didn't update at all.  I get to have sushi tonight!  Also, we have prom on Friday, but I don't think I will be attending.  I thought I could only go for the first two years, but I guess you can go all the way through fourth year.  But maybe I'll go because I want to make sure that fourth years are still alive and that third years do, in fact, exist.  Also, I don't want to mention names or certain professional schools, but before you complain to a medical student that you are struggling more in your studies than they are in theirs you may want to take into account that you may not be as smart as they are and so simpler things are just naturally harder for you.  So yes, your school may be harder for you, but it is not harder overall.  And no I don't mean anyone in undergrad or below.  And no I am not full of myself.  I just would like people to stop telling me that what I am doing is a cake walk.  I just like smiling.  That doesn't mean school is easy, it means I handle stress well.  And that whoever is bothering me probably has meltdowns in traffic jams.