Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Back in the swing of things

I have to say that skipping 20 hours of lecture to get married and have some much deserved (at least in my mind, although I think the school would beg to differ) time off was not the most brilliant of my ideas.  However, today marked the day of the test over the last skipped material.  All the tests from now on cover only the material I have attended after the wedding.  So now I have something that resembles free time in that I don't feel guilty if I sit around instead of watching catch-up lectures online or studying.  I will miss biostatistics because they constantly told us, with statistically significant figures to back them up, how a lot of what the general public is told about medicine and disease is wrong.  I felt like I was getting into a special "truth" club where no one is going to lie to me any more about what really goes on in medicine.  All I have to say is that every time a famous person gets a disease it suddenly becomes the new fashion to screen everyone for it (usually yearly) even if there is no real reason to.  So really, the power of celebrity is helping build up medical costs per year of life for average people.  All I have to say is that there should be a required standardized test, like the MCAT, with a minimum score necessary to run a company, be a politician, or be anyone with a large sway in policies affecting the general public.  Just a thought.

The block I am in now, Molecules to Medicine, I feel is a big waste of my time.  I also believe the school knows that as relevant as it is for research, it isn't all that relevant to clinical medicine and they have been trying to compensate by changing the name to sound applicable.  I believe it started out as biochemistry.  Okay fine.  Sounds like an undergrad class where I learn how the chemical make-up of an amino acid makes proteins form.  I don't think I'll ever have a patient come in and tell me they are having pain from their proteins having too many basic side chains.  So then they changed it to micro-anatomy.  Yeah, we had gross anatomy (and I know it is called gross because of the cadavers and not because it is a giant overview of every structure in the body) and so now this is what?  The super small arteries branching off?  Nope, it's just learning the molecular structure of the body.  I would prefer to say that it has nothing to do with anatomy since the general conception of anatomy is that of a larger scale.  Like one you can see on someone who is alive and sitting, or lying unconscious, in front of you without a microscope.  I know the definition technically encompasses the molecular structure, but really they were just trying to fool us into caring again.  So now we are here today in molecules to medicine.  They realized we are too smart for their tricks and have just given up and put a relationship in the course title hoping we would care because of it.  Oh, molecule TO medicine?  That must mean these molecules are very important and not just a boring drudge of biochemistry.  I mean, that "to" could mean anything.  These molecules could be the ones medicine makes better or maybe even the molecules the medicine is made of.  Wow.... I think I am going to leave the detailed molecular structure of medicine to pharmacists.  I know that you can argue that once you look into a pathology far enough you end up at the molecular basis for symptoms.  I am just saying that spending nine weeks of my first year learning the molecular basis, which I will forget among the quantitative symptoms, for a ton of diseases is not the best use of my time.  And so I conclude that once again I know best and everyone should listen to me.  Mostly because I have power issues, but hey, that's why I'm going to be a doctor right?

So I never realized how much living alone had affected me until ninja moved in.  He recently pointed out that every time I have to pee I say, "Diabeetus" like Wilford Brimley in those old commercials where he rides a horse through a river and talks to me about the importance of regular blood testing for insulin levels.  There is a logical explanation for it you know.  Two of the main signs you have type 2 diabetes are frequent urination and fatigue.  I happen to have both at the moment.  You could say it is from being in school and drinking water constantly, but I prefer to err on the side of caution.  Or is that paranoia?  I can never remember.  Anyway, now you know my secret so if you hear me say, "Diabeetus" and then I leave the room you'll know where I went.  He has also noticed that I talk to inanimate objects, especially my food, and sometimes even ask questions and act astonished at the reply.  I think all of it has been healthy coping mechanisms and the only reason he is able to live with me at all is due to the shreds of sanity I maintained by using those mechanisms.  I also think it entertains him because I find him spying on me and laughing sometimes.  But how can he judge me?  At least I don't hide and then pick him up over my head and throw him into marshmallows. How am I supposed to feel safe in my own apartment if at any time a ninja could jump out and throw me onto something soft and then run away with no real harm done?  Sure it is extremely fun and the sort of thing most people have to give up for good when they get to be too big to be carried around by dad and mom, but I have to have one thing, ONE THING, to hold against him.  He can't just do everything right and make everything better all the time.  I need one tiny bit of leverage, just one, and nothing beats domestic abuse.  Yes, I said the big DA.  He throws me with no harm done, but throwing is involved none-the-less.  This is my ace in the hole for the next time he eats my only slice of my own mother's peach pie.  I know none of this could ever hold up anywhere and if I try to use it against him I will probably end up being thrown into a marshmallow, but I have to give it my best shot for the sake of that delicious pie.

No comments:

Post a Comment