I made delicious food for Thanksgiving. I made the sweet potatoes and the lemon cake. And yes lemon cake is traditional in the sense that I made it for all the people who super want to eat delicious things. I even made my own homemade whipped frosting. Ninja and I talked our two families into eating together this year so we made half the food and they made half the food. And by they I mostly mean Ninja all by himself. So my family made the vegetables and rolls. The rolls were super amazing delicious, but for whatever reason they didn't rise and were only the size of a meatball. In fact I have to say that everything was delicious. Ninja made the turkey by smoking it and then roasting it in the oven. The smoking caused the meat towards the outside to turn pinkish. He cooked it until the middle of the breast was at 170 so I know it was good to eat, but I was just a little unsettled by the pink tint. It was amazing though because the meat was a little sweet and juicier than any other turkey I have ever had. My brother, who will never even look at turkey, sat himself down in front of the serving platter and picked pieces off. There were also egg rolls and sesame dough balls and bratwurst and homemade pumpkin pie. Honestly it was the best food I have ever had on Thanksgiving and I look forward to having him make me turkey for a looooooong time.
Once we all woke up from our food comas we really didn't do anything and it was absolutely perfect. We played more games and stayed up way too late. Ninja and I went to bed early at around 2am and everyone else stayed up until 5. The next morning we got up and watched more than 3 hours of Spongebob. I would like to point out here that there is nothing wrong with watching cartoons all the time. And I am tired of all these parents who tell their kids shows like Spongebob or Phineas and Ferb will rot their brains, but then allow them to watch things like, uh, I forgot the name. Ummm.... Oh yeah!! Wonder Pets. If I have ever seen a useless bit of dribble that would be it. When did it become "cute" for things to sing in a baby voice off key? Never. I don't care who you are, if you are on TV in a singing based show you need to be ON key. And they also solve "problems" like boredom. Last I checked one of the important steps in child development was learning to manage your own boredom and not by watching (or calling) fictional pets to help. In fact, I think it is insulting to a child to relegate them to such horrible shows because it is "at their level". I remember watching Bugs Bunny since, well, since I can remember anything. Do I think it is directed at a 4 year old level? No, not at all. But I think it was at the very least not detrimental and I really believe it was helpful in teaching me to me grow into an adult. How can it possibly be that watching cartoons above my level helped me mature instead of confusing me and teaching me to be violent? Well, because it didn't star off key animals talking in baby voices my father would sit down and watch it with me. And while we watched he would interject with his explanations of violence and what was okay for people and what was only okay for cartoons. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience and I bonded well with my parents over it. I just see nothing but evil coming from Wonder Pets. NOTHING BUT EVIL. So I say, listen to the horrible screams coming from deep in your psyche when you hear the Wonder Pets theme song. Or even just listen to the medical student who has watched Spongebob incessantly since it started and did not get any stupider. Just please find it in your heart to let your child watch good cartoons. Or at the very least no cartoons is better than that crap. Please stop fueling horrible shows that ruin the minds of nice children. Just pick something entertaining that is a little above their level and spend the time to bond over cartoons. I recommend Spongebob.
Ahem, that was my physician in training PSA of the day. The rest of the day we just hung around. I did go work out with my mom so I could say I wasn't totally useless, but really I was pretty darn useless. Nothing but video games as far as the eye can see. I even forced my own father to play the Family Fued and Trivial Pursuit games with me. I am going to say he enjoyed it not because he enjoyed the game, but because he enjoyed getting outraged by how cheater the questions were. They are really super unfair. One question asked us at which age children started giving Christmas presents to their parents. Uhhhh.... depends? Does it count if the spouse buys the present and signs the child's name? I believe the ages accepted ranged from 5 to 15 and only 6 of them were considered correct. Not even the real Family Fued is that unfair. It's like they just want us to never play that game. Oh well, it was a nice bonding time. Like the time I now spend explaining Spongebob to my parents. Just so you know they rock. You should hang out with them sometime.
No comments:
Post a Comment