So there is a test on Monday and I will never feel like I studied enough that I can take the time to write a blog, but I realised I was getting a headache from reading so I needed a break anyway. Friday we had exam review and then our dissection quiz. My group got a 30/30 on it which was really nice and almost (emphasis on almost) makes up for how poorly I just did on the clinical exam. I think once the two are averaged together I'll be one point below where I was going into the extremities written and lab exams. I also helped lead a tour for the prospective students interviewing for next year. The group I had apparantly had been around our campus before so they weren't impressed with much. I was excited the whole tour because we got free ice cream right before it started so even their unimpressed attitudes didn't dampen my enthusiasm. We also got to go in the CAPE and see all of the robot patients. One of them kept blinking and one of them started singing. It was really complicated singing too because he was even vocalising all the instruments at the same time. I really enjoyed it. Then we heard someone laughing from behind the mirror. I guess he didn't know the microphone was on and he turned on the radio which came out of our robot. I still like to pretend he was singing though. Other than that I really did almost nothing except avoid studying and study. Let's just say I am better at avoiding. I think I spent most the night listening to wedding music and trying to get the venous supplies of the trunk down.
Today I woke up at eleven and then picked up my food basket thing. I was pleasantly suprised that the food was organic. I mean, when you pay $50 for two giant boxes of food you have expectations about the quality. I really expected to find thinly veiled recycled McDonald's hamburgers and that sort of thing. Which at this point I probably would eat. But it was quality stuff in there. I have a bunch of kiwis and a pineapple and an avocado even! The other day I was thinking about how I eat like an Ethiopian, but then I decided I couldn't say that until I tried one of the many Ethiopian restaurants on Colfax. They might have some good stuff. Maybe it would be an improvement to eat like that. Anyway, now I have a lot of food to eat until ninja moves in.
After I got my food I went home to put it away and go back into the complicated dance I play with studying. I once again proved I am more adept at not studying. I then looked over all of the clinical objectives, took the exam, and failed it. Literally failed by two percent. In case you don't know, anything below a 70% is failing at medical school. They don't put up with a C average here. Well they might I guess, but the students are so over-achieving that they wouldn't put up with it even if the faculty did. So I have decided this does not bode well for the written exam or the anyone with thorax, abdominal, or pelvic problems that put their lives in my hands. Actually I think I failed because I have no idea how to read any radiological images what-so-ever. Everything is in grayscale. I mean, just spice it up with a little color and I'll do great. How am I supposed to know which shades of grey are tumors and water and blood and air and bone, well bone is easy because it's white and air is easy because it's black, but other than that everything is just various shades of grey. There is a reason dogs and cats cannot be physicians and it has to do with that they are color blind and color is important. (If you are a color blind pyhsician I apologize and am amazed at your skill distinguishing anything in the world from other things.) Or maybe they can't be physicians because they don't have the capacity for complex enough thought or opposable thumbs. I'm sticking with color blind though. So I have nothing to talk about because I have just been studying/avoiding studying. Tomorrow is likely to be the same, but I should have a lot to talk about as far as failing goes after the exam on Monday.
No comments:
Post a Comment