Saturday, October 30, 2010

The Hiatus

Way too much has happened in the last few weeks and now I find myself a bit behind on everything.  I believe when I left off it was just a few days before the dreaded head and neck anatomy final.  I really did not study anywhere close to what I should have and I super failed the lab practical because I never set foot in that lab outside of the required dissection times.  All in all I ended up with an 80% in that class which is really good for someone who never had anatomy before and never really sat down and studied much.  I would equate finishing anatomy to giving birth.  It was in three units (trimesters) and each had its own unique issues and all of them came together for a very painful, yet relieving, end.  At first it was exciting because there were so many exciting things to learn and it was a new part of life.  Then after the first week the realization set in that it was in fact the next nine weeks of my life and I couldn't get out of it now.  So I made the best of it for a while and got through the first unit a little beaten up, but wiser.  Then in the second unit I knew what was up.  I knew when I should study, when I should go to lab, how long my breaks should be between study sessions, and who I wanted to get advice and help from.  Then came the third unit, head and neck.  The end was visible and I started getting excited, but it was an ugly thing.  My breaks got shorter and suddenly everything I had been doing before was not working under the new conditions.  I couldn't manage to get the things done that I had been before because of those darn unmanageable cranial nerves.  Then I realized there was only a short time left and I was NOT ready for the final exam.  I was nervous and frightened about how it would all turn out.  Then the day of the final came.  My mind burst forth all of the information that had been stored there and I finally walked home and had my first night without opening an anatomy atlas.  I had a headache for most of the night, but I was happy I no longer had to carry that information around in my head.  Now I have never had a child, but I imagine it will be much the same.  Except instead of being mentally painful it will be physically painful, but either way it is an exhausting experience that, while fun in it's own twisted way, can only be considered worthwhile because of the reward at the end.

After life-eating anatomy ended I finally got to think and reflect on what was coming the next weekend, my giant best friends forever ceremony with ninja.  The final was on Monday and the next block biochemistry started at 8am on Tuesday.  Why?  Because they hate us.  I really think at some points they really do hate us. Why couldn't they just skip Tuesday and have us go a little longer each day for the rest of the week?  We even asked politely in with our med student puppy dog eyes to switch Tuesday classes from 8-12 to 1-5 so we could at least sleep in for a day and they gave us a harsh NO.  So cruel.  I ended up going back to Colorado Springs after class on Thursday and along the way my cat used my car as her personal litter box.  I suppose I can no longer lie to myself and claim it was the other passengers in my car making the mess because we were the only ones in the car and I couldn't say it was myself because I know it wasn't me.  Needless to say I had a rather horrible attitude when I came into town.  So that night was my bachelorette party and I was not really up for games that make me look stupid.  Luckily I have the sort of bridesmaids who like me enough to put off their original plans to let me mope on a bed and watch Willi Wonka.  I really felt a little bad because I was about 2 1/2 hours late to the party.  All in all I had a great time and even forgot the horrendous drive down in a car smelling like sewage with the windows all the way down in the cold.

Friday was quite the beginning to my ceremony.  We had our rehearsal.  I acted out my part very well, much to the dismay of my understudy who was looking for her big break.  I got the part as the leading lady in the ceremony the next day and luckily for me ninja got the part as the leading man.  So we practiced for a while and then had a massive dinner party at ninja's house.  We even carved pumpkins.  Mine had Snoopy and Charlie Brown.  So the next morning I woke up and had my hair done (which is rare for me) and then went to willingly have people put me in a giant dress.  I got yelled at a lot for talking to ninja and hugging ninja and seeing ninja in his suit before the ceremony started.  But he didn't see me in my dress so I think it's all good.  So I would really like to talk for hours about how wonderful the ceremony was and how great of a time I had, but I am still behind at school from taking time off the have the ceremony in the first place so I really can't.  I would like to say that I almost passed out in the back because I got kind of nervous before I walked in and then one of my ring-bearers started posing in his little suit and that helped.  I would like to say I noticed that right as we started saying our vows the sun came out and I feel that was not a coincidence.  I would also like to say that although the poses in the pictures always look nice, they are in general very uncomfortable and that the better they look the less comfortable I was.  I want to mention how much I enjoyed my first dance with ninja and the dance with my dad.  I loved my pizza and the splatter-painted cake.  I also had a lot of fun watching the traditional dances from ninja's family and the money dance with everyone who pinned a dollar on me to have a dance.  I wish I would have had more time to go and talk to the people that came who I rarely see or talk to anymore.  Then I really liked the end of the night when we were all sober and dancing like we had all had about 2 bottles of vodka each.  All around it was a great ceremony and my parents rock for putting it all together while I was going through my anatomy pregnancy.

Post ceremony... do you really want to know?  We went to Glen Eyrie and played Scrabble for about 4 hours and then went to bed.  Not very eventful.  Ninja and I have never lived lived together or slept together (except if you count when we both fall asleep on the couch watching movies) and I think around 3am when I was telling him my whole life story he was wondering what exactly he had gotten himself into.  I did finally manage to talk him into one more game of Scrabble if I promised to be quiet and at least let him sleep.  So in the morning I was surprised to find my bald ninja had used my shampoo.  On what?  He claims it helps make his head stubble softer so it is easier to shave.  Then we played Jenga and left the hotel to hang out with various friends and family around town.  We opened our many presents and had dinner with my brother, foster brother, and cousin.  Then we went back to Glen Eyrie and played Scrabble more because that is our favorite game together.  I accidentally elbowed him in the face while we were sleeping in the middle of the night and I was very happy to find out that in spite of his ninja reflexes he just looked surprised and a little upset, but did not come up swinging.  The next day, Monday, we packed up at the hotel and hung out with family until late that night and then finally went back to Denver.

This week in Denver has been fairly eventful.  We watched my cousin's play soccer in the freezing cold and their team won in the second overtime on a header.  We came back to Colorado Springs for a night and slept in my old bed at my parents' house and ninja spent the entire night waiting for my dad to come in a beat him with an ax handle.  I do have to admit sleeping with ninja in the one bed he has always been banned from was a little awkward.  But it was also nice that my parents didn't get upset at all.  So I have to say the most interesting thing was my 16 hour day on Thursday.  I had lecture from 8am-5pm and then I worked in a detox clinic from 6pm-midnight.  Poor ninja had to be alone all day.  So the clinic was one of the most interesting places I have ever been to in my life.  I heard a ton of stories about people getting stabbed and beaten by the clients.  I also got to meet very interesting drunk people and witness first hand that everything you have heard about how much alcohol the human body can take is a lie.  I met several individuals who were fully functional despite blowing over a 300 or 400 on the breathalyser and heard about one man who was walking around and fairly lucid that blew a 750 and when he got out of the hospital was still blowing a 400.  I got to see a man with a big beard take a couple swings at security and then have his pants fall off when they threw him up against the wall.  He complained about how they let women see him like that when it was cold out and how unfair it was to him because he normally is a little bigger when he is warm.  I also got to see a trans-gender who had the full operation, but had to be physically checked to be sure she was not even part man before she could go to the female dorm for the night.  I checked vitals on a man who was delusional and HIV positive who had oozing cuts on his forehead and nose.  And all around I met a lot of colorful characters who have a problem with alcohol and thankfully have a place to go where people know them and treat them like people still.  I found myself excited and fascinated about all of the interesting things going on and not at all concerned about how much depravity there is in the world like my fellow student volunteer sharing my shift.  I had a wonderful time and on my next shift I think I am going to stay until at least 3am so I can see all the really crazy things that go on.  I only wish I could be there on Halloween night.  I guess among all of the holidays this one is the most interesting because of all the crazy costumes and things people get into.

Now that I have a ninja living at my home I would like to let you know the many reasons why he is the best person to have around.  Each day he has made me a hot breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  He cooked me a Halloween breakfast cake that had a candy bar in the middle of it.  He made chicken parmigiana stromboli.  He made me homemade rubens with homemade thousand island dressing and french fries.  He makes crispy cheese bread toasted sandwiches.  Everything he makes is delicious!  He also organized and put away all our presents while I was at school.  He put up Halloween decorations on the door, porch, and all around the apartment.  He makes the bed.  He did the laundry.  He does all the dishes.  He drove me to my work at the detox clinic.   He turns on the shower before I get up so it's hot when I get in and he bought me a robe that he leaves on the counter so I don't get cold when I get out of the shower.  When he has time he walks to my school so he can walk home with me when I get out of class.  He gives me back, neck, and foot rubs every night whether I ask for them or not.  He brings me hot tea in bed when I wake up with a scratchy throat.  He let me line the floor of the entire apartment with bubble wrap because I liked walking on it and popping bubbles everywhere I went.  He buys me things that he thinks are cute like a squishy penguin pillow.  This is only one week of everything he has been up to and he is the best person ever to live with in the universe.  It's okay to be jealous in this case.

So that has pretty much caught up everything over the hiatus.  I should be better about this from now on because I don't think I have any more permanently life altering events coming up.  I have quite forgotten a lot of things that happened which I would like to have gotten down somewhere, but maybe in my lucid states between irrational amounts of studying and having my head in the clouds from living with ninja I'll remember and write it down.

No comments:

Post a Comment