Sunday, October 10, 2010

I love ninjas

I have begun to realize that skipping days is not good.  I really do forget what has happened.  Hmmm....  Friday started out pretty terribly if I remember correctly.  My lab partners had promised me I could have the 8-10am dissecting shift and then they showed up and just started and left me with nothing to do.  So I mingled among the various lab groups and read my own group's lips about how I don't contribute and left early to hang out with my friend.  I have to say that being able to read lips, even as poorly as I do, is a curse.  It pretty much gives you the ability to eavesdrop on people without them having any idea.  I believe one of my classmates likened it to having people who think you have headphones blasting in your ears talk freely next to you when you can actually hear everything they are saying.  Then he called me evil.  Is it evil to use your talents for not necessarily good?  I say no because I want to be a good person, but I also want to keep eavesdropping and signing in front of people's backs.

So Friday, after I left lab early in a silent and completely inward outrage, I watched a lot of Phineas and Ferb with my friend.  It is the best!  Then we had coffee, which was yet again a bad idea, and Chipotle.  Then I had SPETA for head and neck exams.  I am a really good clinician when I am focused.  I was not focused until we got to the otoscope though.  Then I got to stick a magnifier light into our SPETA's ear!  I was the only person who saw exactly the same thing as the picture in the book!  First I had to pull on the ear to straighten the ear canal.  Then I had to gently guide my eardrum-piercing light into the ear.  Then I had to look beyond the forest of ear hair and the mountain of earwax to see the cone of light!  That really is the name.  And I had an epiphany when I saw the cone of light!  I realized that I shouldn't drink coffee so I could focus and do everything better.  I know that was anti-climatic, but the cone of light is not as amazing as its name would have you believe.  In fact, I didn't have an epiphany at all.  I just wanted to have one so badly that I made one up so people would think I was cooler than I am.  That's a healthy coping mechanism!!  I am such a great cope-er.  After SPETA I played soccer in the quad with my friend and some classmates.  I am confident my team won even though I have no idea what the score was at the end and I think we scored less.  But I totally remember winning.

Friday night I got to see my best friend ever again!  He has been away at college and he drove to apartment home so he could ride with me to house home and stay all weekend.  We all packed up my stuff and cat and headed to the happiest place in the world.  When we were only 10 minutes away my cat made a stinky in her carrier.  We got to house home and she was so embarrassed she hid for a few hours until I told her about how everyone loses bowel control in the car sometimes and had my family back me up with personal stories.  Then I just stayed up until 3am saying ridiculous things because I was sleep drunk from my insomnia.  I think at some point I was trying to stop cursing so I replaced all curse words with "Christian" until I realized that was probably more blasphemous and just went back to cursing.

Saturday was my bridal shower!  I woke up and meandered about until my Aunts showed up.  Then they were so busy and hustle bustle-y that I went in the backyard and hid.  I also had to hide so they would stop giving me dirty looks for sticking my finger in the cake.  It is MY cake.  And besides, ruining the perfection of a well frosted cake is who I am.  So we had all kinds of snacks and I didn't eat much because I just don't eat much lately.  And ninja's mom brought egg rolls!!  They are the best ever and I think everyone should eat them, except I also think no one should eat them so there are more for me.  I think everyone should eat the idea of them without actually physically eating any.  Yeah, that is exactly what I want.  At my shower I got a bunch of gifts and only a few were embarrassing.  It was okay though because I had an embarrassment deflector!  Every time I got something awkward I would say, "Oh my, ninja will look stunning in this!"  Then it was funny and no one was picturing me wearing it in their heads because they were too busy picturing ninja in it and laughing.  I am so smart.  I also got the best shirt in the world and it says, "I heart ninjas" except the heart is a ninja face shaped like a heart!  I had a lot of fun and I only felt a little bad for not talking to everyone much because it was only 2 hours long and I was busy talking to my bridesmaids since I won't physically see them again until the rehearsal.  But I feel a tiny bit bad because I didn't talk to them about the wedding much at all and just chatted about school instead.

Later in the day the minister for the wedding came over with his wife to go over ceremony details.  I had no idea there was so much going on during the ceremony.  Things have to be put in order and people have to get talked to if they want to sing or read stuff.  It was all very complicated.  But the minister is super awesome cool so he is just going to wing it for us!  Then we all danced a jig in the living room and called it a night.  No seriously, we jigged.  And you should have seen it.  Ninjas are supposed to be coordinated and I have to say that mine was definitely not displaying that part of himself during the jig.

Today is 10/10/10!!  I finally woke up refreshed from sleep for the first time since pre-pneumonia.  Then I had breakfast with my brother and ninja and best friend.  Oh, and after I went to a youth sponsor meeting for my old youth group and tried to gross out anyone who would listen to me long enough.  And I went home and packed and then made the hardest decision of my life.  I left my cat at house home because I am headed back there Wednesday and I don't think her poor cat bowels could take that much car time in one week.  Now I am just at apartment home and really sad because I really am all alone for the first time.  As I was driving out of town with skunk, my best friend, I looked ahead of me and saw storm clouds and misery then I looked behind me and saw sunshine and happiness.  Why do I have to keep coming back here?  Clearly even the elements are telling me, "Stay at house hooooooome."  Oh well, maybe one day when ninja is at apartment home I will see sunshine on both sides.

No comments:

Post a Comment