Sunday my brother and ninja came over to visit. I am so lazy that I still had the same full trash cans I had when they were here last week. I would feel bad, but I can always use school as an excuse for poor housekeeping. That is until one of them gets wise and checks my Wii play time and history. I really need to get better at covering my tracks! Actually I should just stay away from ninjas I guess. He seems to know at any point in time if I am playing Mario when I should be studying and then he lectures me. Yeah, I really should stay away from that one. My brother can come over anytime though. So while they were here we all went to get the little flower girl dresses with my cousin and her daughter. It was pretty awesome. We also went to the Disney store! I got a bunch of Mickey Mouse shirts. Then I got the coolest beanie ever created in the history of the world ever! It has Perry the Platypus from Phineas and Ferb on it. Even though I am pretty sure it gave me a heat stroke I wore my new hat all night. If I could I would wear that hat every second ever. I also danced in the grocery store and acted embarassing enough that the ninja pretended to not know me. At one point I squealed and sprinted to a super delicious bag of Cheetos on a shelf and hugged it. A few other patrons of the store stared in disbelief at me and then my brother came up with his fist like he was about to strike me and then the other store patrons stared even more intently. I like to believe they were just staring because they know how hard it is being a poor student who just spent all of their Cheeto money on a hat that they just couldn't pass up. They were staring out of pity and compassion. It was a compassion stare. I know that was it and it was not because they thought I was high due to my penchant for munchie food and my amazing hat. Then I ran around like a gorilla and played ship masthead on ninja's cart and spun around until I got dizzy with a gallon of milk in my hand. Yeah, I totally love grocery shopping with friends who can vouch for me when the police get called to take me away. I have to act all normal-ish when I am alone so I don't get taken to the detox clinic. Then I would have to hit on myself. Well, I think I would be great at that because I know all the things to say to get me to like someone. Maybe I should act insane, uh I mean totally sane, when I am alone at the store as well. Besides, my theory is that if I look crazier than people who would try to bother me than everyone will leave me alone. It is a protection mechanism. If I believed in it I would say I am just a more highly evloved individual with a great self-preservation mechanism. So all I have left to say is that Cheetos give the best hugs. Sorry ninja. So my cousins and little cousins are amazing. We didn't get to play as many awesome games this time, but we did get to hang out and talk about how awesome Vibram shoes are. Yeah. Google it and then buy some.
So last night ninja made me stromboli. Be jealous! It's okay to be jealous of something that is so amazing. It is only a deadly sin if you covet things that are not worth coveting. Like cars or houses or health or beauty. But strombolis are the epitomy of awesome-ness and it is a deadly sin to NOT desire them. Mmmmmmmm....... stromboli. I would drool at the thought of it, but I am way too dehydrated to manage even a drop of drool. Don't worry, ninja brought me Colorado Springs water so I'll be hydrated again soon. So after he finished cooking ninja wanted to sleep, but my brother and I did not. Since my apartment is so small there really was no place to be awake and have ninja sleep so he slept in my bed and I slept in my living room and my brother slept in the living room too. I read ninja a little kid bedtime story because I know how fussy he gets when he doesn't get a story. It was all about how much I love the wind. I really do like the wind, snow, and rain. I am much less fond of the sun. In fact, the sun is a big part of why I am so dehydrated. If the rain had been out today I would be much better off. So I thought it was nice to read ninja stories. I think if there is ever another night that he sleeps in my bed I will read him another one. Except it would be nice if I could read him a story and then stay there with him instead of going to sleep in a marshmallow. Oh well, that's never going to happen. Good thing I took pictures of him sleeping last time to read stories to in the future. No that isn't desperate! It's a healthy coping mechanism like the Wii family parade. Stop being so judging.
Today I was back to school. Ninja made fruit smoothies for breakfast. I wasn't fond of them because I thought they had too many chunks in them. So it took so long to make the smoothies that I was going to be really late for my first lecture. The lecture was about getting accepted into different research tracks for our mentored scholarly activities. Then ninja and my brother left and I was too sad for class so I stayed home and watched Sesame Street until one of my anatomy related lectures started. Then I went to lecture. Anyway, my cat really liked watching Sesame Street. I was kind of upset though because they replaced the Bert and Ernie puppets with clay animations of them. Even though the content was still fun I felt totally ripped off. I want to see puppets! I did not tune into Sesame Street 20 years past the appropriate viewing age in my life so I could see clay! I think they bank on the fact that no one my age will be watching so no one will care about the switch. But I noticed and I care. I will be starting a facebook group (we all know how super powerful those are) dedicated to bringing back puppet Bert and Ernie. I will not rest until I get 1,000,000,000,000 people to like my group! So after I was done being productively outraged I went to class.
After class I played soccer in the quad. I haven't played in forever and I didn't have my brace on so I pretty much sucked it up. I was okay with it though because I had a blast. However, I ran way too much for being so out of shape and being in the sun. I turned red like a red lobster. *robot lobster dance* Right after soccer I had lab so I really had no time to cool off before dissection. I would have to say most of my professors expressed concern about how red my face was. In lab I was really bored so I went wondering and wandering about. Then I was tentatively diagnosed with adult ADD by one of my classmates. Okay, several of my classmates. I think I am just exciteable and I like to share my thoughts outloud. So our lab atmosphere was pleasant today. One of the groups played "Kiss the Girl" from The Little Mermaid and everyone, and I mean everyone including professors, sang along. One of our professors even danced through the lab. Can you say best school ever? I think so. I will miss lab for just that one reason. Hanging out for four hours and finding random things that are awesome about classmates and professors. Like how the boys will sing to Disney songs and our professors dance unashamedly to songs they enjoy. Really I think you would be hard pressed to find a school with a better faculty and better student body. There is no stress beyond the stress to succeed out of a want to be a great doctor or train great doctors. It shows in every part of this school and how everyone is laughing and joking even in the midst of the dreaded anatomy block. I just wish there was a ninja in my bed because tonight I could just tell him stories about my day instead of having to read him one. Oh well, I suppose it is better this way since I am liable to drool all over while I dream of stromboli.
No comments:
Post a Comment